Gratitude Chain Day 3

Gratitude Chain Day 3:

Today, I celebrate the old and new, and combinations. 🙂 There’s a recipe hidden somewhere here, too…

The old: Psyllium husk – it’s been years since my friend Carolyn shared about how psyllium fiber has been one of the blessings of her busy life as a dancer. I eventually bought a bag (about 500 grams), but I confess I haven’t really used it as regularly or faithfully as she did. I didn’t quite appreciate how they felt in my mouth, and as I wasn’t as busy a person as Carolyn, I could get my fiber from veggies anyway. So my psyllium fiber just sat on my kitchen shelf, finally down to about half by now.

The new: Chia seeds – I’ve been hearing about it (but can’t afford it) and have lots of friends who seem ready to swear by it, among them the lovely couple, Jojo and Tina, who gave me, oh, maybe about one whole cup to try. I told them I’d seen people making pudding with chia seeds and coconut milk, and that I’d be trying it.

Psyllium Husk and Chia Seeds. Taken with another "old", my GE C1033 digital camera
Psyllium Husk and Chia Seeds. Taken with another “old”, my GE C1033 digital camera

So this morning, I wake up my trusty laptop and asked Mr. Google for chia seed pudding recipes. The most basic proportion is about 1 cup milk, 1/4 cup chia seeds, and 2 tablespoons sweetener. Go dairy, or go non-dairy, sugar or honey/maple/agave. For today, I had no choice but to go with powdered milk mix and brown sugar. And 1 tablespoon of really dark cocoa (brand: Boston).

I felt bad about the long wait (at least 4 hours), and had conditioned my mind to look forward to chocolate chia seed pudding tomorrow morning. Until I decided to ask Mr. Google if there was someone who had made psyllium husk pudding. My original intent was to compare. But when I found the blog of the person who made it “by mistake” (she was going for chia, but had grabbed psyllium and spooned it in before she discovered her error), I decided…what the heck — let’s try combining it!

So here is the combination: add about 1 Tablespoon of Psyllium fiber to the Chia seed pudding waiting to set (it had been in the fridge for over 30mins), and stir briskly. Result?

INSTANT DARK CHOCOLATE CRUNCHY PUDDING

Psyllium husk for the instant thickening, and Chia seeds for the crunch. Has the texture of tapioca pudding, but crunchy. :)
Psyllium husk for the instant thickening, and Chia seeds for the crunch. Has the texture of tapioca pudding, but crunchy. 🙂
Leave a Reply

