FB Letter: Praying for Healing

It’s Monday morning here in the Philippines. Being at least 12 hours ahead of the continental US, I catch the previous day’s last Joseph Prince webcast in the morning. It’s a great supplement to morning time with Jesus. 🙂

This morning was one hour long, being the final Sunday webcast for the US. I was just truly amazed at how the Lord leads this Singaporean pastor to “unearth”Jesus in the Old Testament. Today, it was “Jesus Revealed in Jacob’s Blessing”. The passage is in Genesis 49.

It was AWESOME. I took notes! 😀

Although what suddenly got me was when Pastor Prince said he wanted to bless us with Moses‘ blessing in Deuteronomy 33. A face flashed through my mind: a friend who has been in dialysis for 5 years now, and we’ve been joining him in praying for provision for the treatment, and for a kidney donor. As Pastor Prince read out Moses’ blessing on Asher, I knew it wasn’t just for me, but also for this friend.

So I sent him a private message on FB (and told him I’d be sharing it here too, because I believe my Lord wants others to hear, uhmm, read it as well):

I was listening to a sermon this morning, and the pastor (Joseph Prince) mentioned this blessing from the bible:

“As your days, so shall your strength be.” (Deuteronomy 33:25)

He said that the blessing means that as your days grow, so shall your strength: the older you get, the stronger you become.

And the Lord brought you to mind.

I believe the Lord Jesus wants to assure you of this promise, that as your days, so shall your strength be. I know what medical science says, specially to one in your condition, but from now on, I promise you that this blessing is what I shall be praying for you, as He has put in my heart to do.

I looked up the rest of the passage, and I hope you find hope in these words:

“There is no one like the God of Jeshurun, who rides the heavens to help you, and in His excellency on the clouds. The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms. He will thrust out the enemy from before you, and will say, ‘Destroy!'”

“Jeshurun”, I learned, means “upright, just, straight.” Traditionally it is considered to be a poetic name for Israel/Jacob, but I believe it is referring to the only upright, just, straight-walking Man who ever lived: Jesus Christ.

And there is truly no one like the God of Jesus Christ, who sent His only Son to reveal Himself for who He truly wants to be to man – to us: a Daddy. A Daddy who rushes to help His beloved child, sheltering him from harm (refuge) and carrying him to safety (underneath are the everlasting arms). This is the God who cares for you and says to you, “As your days, so shall your strength be.”

I truly believe that more than provision for your treatment, the Lord God, who created and formed your body, wants to heal you, and IS healing you. Don’t limit your prayer requests to simply money for the dialysis and a kidney donor. Don’t be afraid to ask Him to heal you. Don’t think that this is some sort of punishment for whatever you think you deserve punishment for. It is written in the bible that Jesus has already received punishment on our behalf:

“He was wounded for our transgressions, bruised for our iniquities.”

That means that all the times we violated the law (transgression) or did something morally wrong (iniquity) that we believe we should be punished for, Jesus has received it on our behalf. Which is why the next words are

“The chastisement for our peace was upon Him.”

He received the punishment we deserve for our wrongdoing, knowing that if we received it ourselves, we would not be able to bear it. But because Jesus was strong enough to bear it for us, He chose to receive it for us, and now we can receive peace — and the Hebrew word for peace, SHALOM, means much more than calmness or serenity. It means WHOLENESS: nothing missing, nothing broken, everything in perfect condition, everything WHOLE — knowing that what we know we deserve punishment for HAS ALREADY BEEN punished, and because of that,

“By His stripes we are healed.”

Healed. HEALED. Past tense. The Eternal God, who lives outside time, sees your healing as already done. And I will side with Him, even if from my perspective, I can’t see it either.

The bible also says that “the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up.” But I will not claim that it is my faith that will fuel the prayer that will bring about your wholeness.

Jesus, “because He continues forever, has an unchangeable priesthood. Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.”

Jesus Himself is praying for you as your heavenly High Priest. It is His prayer of faith that will save you, and the Lord Himself will raise you up.

I am blessed to be a witness to the miracle He is working in your life!

GOD BLESS YOU GREATLY!!

And God greatly bless us all!

Leave a Reply

