Held

It’s the first working day of the new year. Don’t forget: 2011, not 2010. Watch how you write on those documents and cheques. ^_^

Seriously now. New years always bring about resolutions: eat less, exercise more, stop smoking, quit drinking, go to church regularly, read bible daily…the list can be endless.

I don’t know when I stopped making resolutions. I think it was around the time I read the words from The Zone: if you make a mistake at one meal, just make sure the next meal is a Zone meal. Or something to that effect. But anyway, it revolutionized my thinking:

Move on. You made a mistake, now learn from it. And move on.

It’s not always that easy, mind you. And I don’t just mean in dieting. I don’t know about you, but I have to constantly struggle against wallowing in self-pity when I catch myself in a mistake. Or in sin.

But after more than 26 years of being owned by God — thank You, Lord Jesus — I have learned some stuff. Some.

First, it really isn’t about me. And I don’t just mean going for #1 and all that. Or even my happiness. It took me a long time to finally understand what “not about me” really means, and how liberating it is!

Second, it’s not about other people either. I used to feel used. As a young woman, I’d been told my purpose was to be of use, and it was a slap on the face. Unfortunately, I projected that utilitarian “love” towards God, accusing Him of saving me just so He could use me.

arggghhh..*toink*

But I think I’ve learned.

My comment on FB:

I have found that it is not about how tightly I hold on to Jesus…but resting in the fact that HE will NEVER LET ME GO. Even when I fail Him, He still holds on to me. The one thing I can never seem to do is to get Jesus off of me…and for that, I am truly grateful!

I’m learning!! ^_^

3 thoughts on “Held

  1. Great thoughts. Loved the last line: “I have found that it is not about how tightly I hold on to Jesus…but resting in the fact that HE will NEVER LET ME GO. Even when I fail Him, He still holds on to me. The one thing I can never seem to do is to get Jesus off of me…and for that, I am truly grateful!” Awesome truth right there 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

