Truth Is, God Is

Our ladies’ group has started a discussion this month based on Nancy Leigh de Moss’ book, Lies Women Believe. I’m thinking of writing down my thoughts about what she says.

I remember being intrigued by the title. I thought, this is one brave woman to try to expose lies that we have bought into for so long, they’ve been accepted as truths. She focused on lies “church women” believe. Not that women who don’t believe in Jesus haven’t bought into the lies as well. But for us women who claim to have a relationship with the God of the bible, we have the option of believing the Truth instead of the lie.

Another reason this book is for church women, I guess, is because it is based on the premise that God exists. That’s the ultimate truth. There IS a God, and He does care about us, He is involved in our lives, whether we recognize it or not. This book was written for women who believe that fundamental truth.

I’ve often wondered what would make a person believe there is no God. The intricate, delicate balance that allows life and existence should prove there is at least someone who designed everything. I can understand people not believing in Jesus Christ, but denying the existence of a designer creator God is beyond my limited, finite mind.

But even more puzzling for me is that when disasters strike, God is suddenly blamed for it. I thought they were saying there is no God? How come he suddenly exists when we want someone to blame? Where does he go when we have a nice day, when everything’s going fine, when things are going our way?

If there is no God, then disasters shouldn’t be blamed on him, right?

Which is the lie, and which is the truth? I grew up being told about God and Jesus Christ, and for me, that’s the truth. But put that way, truth becomes relative. And that’s not right.

Truth must be absolute. For me, as a Christian, I believe God is absolutely true, and absolutely truthful. Taking God away from the equation takes away the absolute factor. Without the absolute, everything becomes relative. When all is relative, then there can be no right or wrong. No good or bad.

No fame or blame.

No lies, no truth.

But how can I believe that God is the truth and the source of truth? Empirically, it’s not possible. Historically, debatable. People who don’t want to believe in God’s existence have a way of explaining away history as merely personal experience.

But isn’t that what history is? Recorded experience. The more records there are, the better the chance that it’s true. But even then it can be questionable. The bible is the most reproduced historical record, and has been shown to have been the most accurate.

Yet people still say it’s a bunch of fairy tales.

The basic truth that must be dealt with is God’s existence. If we refuse to accept it, then all the other lies are irrelevant. They merely become a reasonable consequence of existence in a selfish world, where the important thing is to look out for number 1.

I don’t know if I can ever give a convincing argument for the existence of God beyond personal experience of trust and faith. His nonexistence is the one lie I sometimes believe were true. After all, I ask the same questions: how could a good God allow evil?

But in that, I have come to realize: goodness allows. It is evil that refuses individual expression. Goodness sets boundaries around freedom, because it seeks to preserve. Evil removes boundaries because it ultimately wants to destroy. Watch parents. From the extremes of spanking to hiring nannies, the point is the same: to make sure the babies stay within a safe zone.

God allows evil, but he also redeems it. Out of suffering come champions of justice and heroes of grace. To focus simply on evil will blind us to the good that’s rising up in it.

If you will decide to join me on this journey of looking at lies women — and maybe even men — have come to believe, then I ask you to begin with accepting this one truth: God is. Because only in accepting that will all the lies make sense, and truth can finally set free.

Jesus himself said that. And he gave the only solution for ultimate freedom: his substituting sacrifice on the cross. the night before his death, he told his closest friends: “I am the way, the TRUTH, and the life…” (emphasis added). During his trial with Pilate, he was asked, “What is truth?”

God, let me understand. Not necessarily everything, but everything that is necessary so that I would know the truth from the lie…so I can be free. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

