Eyes to the Cross

I’ve often wondered why people do the things they do. As an avid reader of mystery books, specially Agatha Christie, I’ve come to agree that we’re all quite selfish, one way or another, although admittedly, some more than others (human nature, as Miss Marple and Poirot would say). Even what I thought were selfless acts have been exposed with ulterior motives, always, always selfish. For personal gain emotionally, mentally, psychologically. Financially? I wish. And spiritually? Yes.

That was why I first became a Christian. As a child, I wanted to go to heaven and avoid hell, and Christianity made the most definite offer. So I took it, never imagining what it would entail in my life.

It’s been almost 25 years since I first accepted the deal Christianity offered. Do I regret it? Lots of times. Have I turned away? Several times. Have I lost faith? So much that I wonder if I’ve ever kept it in the first place.

But one thing I know now that I can’t shake. Throughout all those years, and all the years to come, Jesus, the Son of God, the Christ of Christianity, has never regretted saving me, never turned away from me, never lost faith in me. And never will. A lot of people seem to try to hard sell Christianity with testimonies that would lead one to believe that it is the answer to the world’s problems.

It’s not.

If anything, becoming a Christian was what gave me problems. But more on that in the blogs to come.

No, even as a Christian, I will say, without a shadow of a doubt, that Christianity is NOT the solution to the world’s problems.

Jesus is.

That’s because only Jesus made one fantastic claim: that He would lay down His life for His sheep, His friends, and that after three days He would take it up again.

And He did.

Why?

I don’t know. But the bible does say that God so loved the world that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not die but have everlasting life.

Really?

Before he died, Jesus said, “When I am lifted up from the earth, I will draw people to myself.” He said this to show the way he would die.

He died on the most cruel executionary implement ever invented by man. The electric chair has nothing on it.

He died on the cross.

Every other religious leader has given a set of rules to get to heaven. Jesus alone claimed that we can’t. “Impossible for man” were the words He used.

So he died on the cross to make it possible.

One of those who claimed to follow him said, “I know nothing… except Jesus Christ, and that He was crucified.”

And right now, that’s all I know, too. As I live my life now as a stay home wife and mom, daughter and sister, closet musician and writer, I try to see how that cross on which Christ chose to die has any relevance for me.

And I shall do my best to share what I find.

Leave a Reply

